Iain Dixon – Saxophone & Woodwinds

The latest addition to the international supergroup and SJP’s 2016 Band-in-Residence, The Impossible Gentlemen, Iain began his professional career with the BBC Radio Orchestra and BBC Big Band, where he stayed for eight years before becoming a freelance player on the London music scene. He has played as a member of UK jazz groups led by Mike Walker, Julian Arguelles, Dave Green, Alan Barnes and Dave Newton, as well as leading his own bands.

As a session player, Iain has appeared on many albums with artists as diverse as Joni Mitchell, Primal Scream and The Spice Girls. He has been a featured soloist on numerous film soundtracks including “The Talented Mr. Ripley” (dir. Anthony Minghella) and “Bright Young Things” (dir. Stephen Fry.)

Following a UK tour with the Michael Brecker Quindectet, Iain travelled to New York in 2003 to record the album “Wide Angles” with the band. He has been touring with Bryan Ferry over the last ten years and currently teaches Jazz Improvisation at Chetham’s School of Music, in addition to running his own Jazz Summer School in collaboration with Mike Walker.